Brokerage Sales: 1‑800‑754‑1918   Brokerage Service: 1‑866‑535‑1918   Logistics: 1‑866‑945‑5378

CETA – Update

The following is provided by Global Affairs Canada.

To date, 13 Member States have completed national ratification of the Canada-EU Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA): Austria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom.  We are pleased that the French National Assembly voted in favour of ratification on July 23, 2019, and will monitor the next step in France’s ratification process, in the French Senate (timing to be confirmed). Once all 28 Member States have finalized national ratification, Canada and the EU can complete the ratification process and bring the full agreement into force.

Formal notifications of CETA ratification by the Parties, including the EU Member States, are tracked by the Council of the European Union.

The following information is from Canada Border Services Agency.

EC is not an acceptable identifier to put in Field 3 of the CETA origin declaration.   We consulted with our EU counterparts, and had agreed that only the following seven identifiers are acceptable: Canada, CA, CAN, EU, European Union, CANADA/EU (or their short/long form versions), or CM (for products that originate in whole or in part in Ceuta or Melilla).

Translated versions of the above identifiers are also acceptable.